Let's get this journey started!!! - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Marijn Sprokkereef - WaarBenJij.nu Let's get this journey started!!! - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Marijn Sprokkereef - WaarBenJij.nu

Let's get this journey started!!!

Door: Marijn

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marijn

19 Augustus 2009 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

Namaste dear friends and family,

Yeees, finally I have set of for a new adventure and at this very moment, I'm waiting at London Heathrow Airport for my flight to... New Delhi!!! :-D Last year, after I came back from Africa, I have finished my thesis and I have tried to save enough money to leave for another whole year abroad: another year, another continent: Asia it is!

As I did last year, when I studied for the first semester in Montreal and the second one in Stellenbosch - South Africa - I will try to keep you all up-to-date about my experiences and adventures abroad... I recently bought a mini-laptop (from which I'm working right now) so I should definately be able to post some travel-stories once in a while, since there should be enough moments of (endless-) waiting: for a bus/train to leave... or to arrive 30 hours later... for another visa to be processed or just to kill some time in a lonesome hostel in the middle of nowhere :-)

My plans for this year: in fact, things won't be that much planned in detail as last year and for now, I only vaguely know where I'll be going... What is sure, is that I'll start in New Delhi, to be exactly: I will arrive there tomorrow morning around 11:00AM (local time). After spending some days in India's capital and after meeting one of my travell-buddies which I met in Africa (Andrew from England), I will soon make my way towards the capital of Nepal, Kathmandu... The plan is to arrive there around the 7th or 8th of September and from there, I will try to organise a new adventure: after climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro last year (5895m), now it's time to make it to the Base Camp of the highest mountain in the world: Mt Everest :-D I have already done some research and I will probably do a four-weeks hike: starting a one-day-drive Eastwards from Kathmandu (a place called Jiri), doing an 'easy' 7 days hike to the actual starting point (Lukla), where my best friend (Gijs) will (most probably join) me, climbing with him (and probably with a so-called 'porter-guide' or 'sherpa') the though way to Everest Base Camp at 5400m, and back to Kathmandu... Yes, I will start off with one of my biggest goals for the year :-)

From Kathmandu we'll travel back together to New Delhi (of course by train, which is supposed to be THE way to move around this huge and crowded country) where I will meet another good friend of mine from the Netherlands on the 26th of October. She (Josine) will be joining me for one month of travelling throughout India: two weeks North (Himalaya, Dalai Lama, Golden Temple, Pakistani Border, outdoor activities) and two week West (Taj Mahal, some of the oldest cities of India, like Udaipur and Jodhpur, camel rides in the Thar Desert and we'll finish in another big city: Mumbai) In fact, this is as far as I have planned my trip, I will work out the rest later on. However, as it stands now, I would love to travel to the Southermost point of India (passing through Goa and Kerala on the way) and going from there North towards Calcutta, finishing Part 1 of the trip in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, around New Year's!!

In the beginning of January, I will fly to South East Asia for Part II of the adventure and I am trying to arrange an internship as soon as possible from that moment. Since I have recently finished my Master's of Law, my aim for this trip is also (except for just having the best time of course!!) to get a taste of some potential working fields which I wouldn't find in the Netherlands: combining development work with law would be ideal and I will try to look actively for an interesting internship. This could be perhaps through a small, local organisation and perhaps through a big International one (something like Amnesty International, the United Nations or the Cambodia Tribunal would be great!)... will keep you up-to-date about these plans!

Part III of the journey starts when my parents will come and visit me at the end of April and by then, I hope to have travelled throughout South East Asia for a large part and I will go Southwards from there towards Malaysia and Singapore, where we can have a great holiday with the three of us! May and June would be a good time for exploring Indonesia/Philipines and perhaps even Australia (depending on budget and airfares) and July and August could be used to see some highlights of China..... Yes, we're getting there..., my dream to end this journey would be to take the 'Trans-Mongolian-Express' from Beijing (stopping over for a while in beautiful Mongolia) and travelling all the way through Russia, back to Moscow or St. Petersburg!!

You can tell my plans start out quite detailed but they get more and more vague towards the end :-) I think it would be pretty hard to plan the whole trip beforehand and it could be a good idea to just adapt my plans as time goes by...

That's it for now, I will try to keep you all up-to-date as good as possible with (hopefully) some nice stories and pictures! Would be great to hear from you as well, so feel free to leave me a message through this site or through Facebook :-) Thanks for everyone's kind messages so far!!! If anyone is planning to travel throughout the same areas somewhere soon, it would be just great to meet up, so let me know!!!

I wish you all the best and to be honest, I just can't wait to arrive in hustling-and-bustling Delhi tomorrow morning... wondering whether I should be prepared for a BIG culture-shock (by Sunday, it's supposed to be 40 Degrees with heavy showers and thunder: the end of the Monsoon) ... but that's for tomorrow, right now I might as well get me a nice coffee from Starbucks here at the Airport (mmm... where do I get Pounds from... damn Brits) :-D

Take care, Marijn

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 08:21

    Lucas:

    Ziet er goed uit jongen, leuk om zo een beetje op de hoogte te worden gehouden... too bad dat ik niet op je laatste borrel was maar dat moet dan maar nog een jaartje wachten! groeten!

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 09:05

    Lisenke:

    He Marijn,
    Klinkt goed weer allemaal! Leuk je reisverhalen te lezen, ik ben vanaf november de andere kant van de wereld aan het ontdekken: Zuid-Amerika (mn Argentinie). Veel plezier!

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 09:17

    Rob:

    Hey marijn!
    Klinkt goed! Ik wens je ontzettend veel plezier op je nieuwe trip! We houden contact!

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 09:35

    Lisa:

    Goed dat je onderweg bent! En misschien hebben ze in India ook wel starbucks;) maar ja roepie..
    liefs, lisa

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 10:22

    Ana:

    I'm so excited to hear about your travels - have so much fun...and check my fb message.

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 11:36

    Melanie:

    Hi Marijn,

    It has been a long time since McGill but I'm so fascinated by all the travels you are doing, first in Africa and then in Asia. waaoouuuhh! Right now I'm working in Berlin, in front of my computer and I can't help thinking I should travel around also.. I can't wait for your pictures! Take care of yourself and keep writing about how your adventure is going! All the best!

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 13:34

    Ranish:

    Marin!
    mooie uiteenzetting van je plannen hoor! ;)
    hoop dat je een goede reis achter de rug hebt!! veel plezier je eerste dagen en tot skypes! :) (hulde aan marieke ;)
    geniet ervan mec! biz

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 17:34

    Mam En Pap:

    lieve zoon,

    deel 0 van je wereldreis(: Meerlo->Brussels) is gisteren al gestart! Vanmorgen hebben we je stem via Skype van heel dichtbij gehoord. De afstand Ierland-India is dus overbrugbaar. Jongen, geniet van je superreis; wij volgen je op afstand en (be-)leven (het) mee !

    Zoals ik, je vader, al tegen je zei bij vertrek:
    "Zoek het positieve in het leven op en beleef je avontuur !"

    Liefs van Pap en Mam:

    "Take good care of your self and we'll meet each other in May 2010 !!!

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 19:14

    Pinja:

    Hi! Dutch is confusing for me, but I hope I manage to get my message through. Sounds cool your travels have fun and take care!With love from Helsinki,

    p

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 19:28

    Tim:

    Marijn jongen, wat maak je me jaloers! Ben benieuwd of de Indiase heksenketel je bevalt, ik vind Delhi geweldig iig! Veel plezier en succes met je plannen, het klinkt allemaal geweldig! Hou me op de hoogte! Tim

  • 20 Augustus 2009 - 20:02

    Maarten:

    Hee Marijn,

    Klinkt wederom super! Begin me nu wel langzaam af te vragen waarom ik besloten heb niet met jou door de Himalaya te trekken... ;) Tja, emigratie naar de oosterburen klinkt dan toch wat minder spannend...

    Al moet ik zeggen dat het leventje van samenwonen met Anna en werken hier in Duitsland me ook prima bevalt! Mocht ik over een paar maanden toch nog op reis gaan, dan zal ik wel even nagaan waar jij dan zit!

    Groeten,
    Maarten

  • 22 Augustus 2009 - 11:23

    BFF:

    Dude,

    (most probably join) can be corrected in: yes, we are!

    Foto-request: patch on your bag!

  • 25 Augustus 2009 - 06:32

    Flop:

    Yo Marijno!

    Tis toch niet normaal? In ieder geval succes op de reizen die je het komend jaar gaat maken, ik lees alles tussendoor en hoor alles over een jaartje onder een kop koffie op het plein in Den Haag!

    Heb je een vlag mee voor de mount everest?

    Floris

  • 28 Augustus 2009 - 06:45

    Rens:

    Marijn! Wat een geweldige trip! Fantastisch dat je een heel jaar gaat reizen, ben jaloers!! Geniet ervan en laat af en toe iets van je horen! xx Rens

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marijn

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 2180
Totaal aantal bezoekers 42857

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Oktober 2012 - 08 April 2012

Asia Part II : Exploring New Opportunities

19 Augustus 2009 - 19 Augustus 2010

A whole year of Asia!

27 Juli 2007 - 20 Augustus 2008

Exchange to Montreal and Stellenbosch

Landen bezocht: